Stupa Heath Care Center and Co-Operative Ltd. (SHCC)

Stupa Health Care Center Co-Operative Ltd. Co-operative Limited (SHCC) is a social, services oriented community owned, integrated and comprehensive health care cooperative center. SHCC is the first and unique of its kind in the...

Stupa Heath Care Center and Co-Operative Ltd. (SHCC)


With the notion of “Health is Wealth and Health for All” the Stupa Health Care Centre Co-operative Limited (SHCC), a social service oriented, community owned, integrated and comprehensive health care centre, is the first and unique of its kind in the country in terms of its multi-dimensional objectives, welfare services and participatory approaches in the operation and management process

In 1998, based on health care need assessment and urgency for easy accessible,  cost- effective and quality clinical and medical services, the centre has informally established by a group of community members settled around the Boudha Stupa. As the community participation increases with increased recognition for better clinical, medical and community health services, the centre was duly formalized in 2001 after registration at the District Co-operative Office under Co-operative Act 2048 BS (1991 A.D.) and renamed as Stupa Health Care Centre Co-operative Limited”.

SHCC believes the prevention is better than cure which demands collective action and comprehensive approaches. Thus, besides general and specialized health issues and problems through awareness raising and health education programmes.  Organizing health camp and training operating mobile clinics, and conducting Participatory Action Research (PAR) on health care related issues are other activities of the centre. Currently, the SHCC has been supported by highly qualified and well-experienced senior medical, nursing team and social scientists with constant encouragement and assistance from communities as a whole.

Goal and Objectives

The broad principle, on which the health centre co-operative was founded, aims to serve all communities’ members by providing distinct clinical medical and community health services with added facility to disabled, old aged, and SHCC members under its social welfare schemes, community members acquire health care services and equally contribute in the development of integrated and comprehensive health care through the process of their effective involvement and participation. The objectives of SHCC are to:

  • Provide easy accessible, cost effective and high quality integrated and comprehensive health care service to all sections of the community through its participatory process
  • Organize and conduct community based health related awareness raising workshops interaction forum, health camp etc in different parts of the country.
  • Organize specific health care activities for disables and elderly people
  • Develop medium and higher levels technical human resources to meet the national demand for health service
  • Conduct participatory and community based action research related to health care



  1. Dr. Ganesh Yonzon                                                  Chairman
  2. Ms. Chandeshwori Tamrakar                                 Vice Chairman
  3. Mr. Pradeep K. Bomjon                                        General Secretary
  4. Mr. Baburam Dhakal                                               Joint Secretary
  5. Mr. Man Bdr. Lama                                                    Treasurer
  6. Ms. Maya lama                                                       Joint Treasurer
  7. Dr. Yubaraj Limbu                                                          Member
  8. Prof. Dr. Munni Raj Chhetri                                            Member
  9. Dr. Kamal Phuyal                                                           Member
  10. Mr. Pancha Krishna Tha Shrestha                                 Member
  11. Mr. Madan Kumar Upadhyaya                                       Member
  12. Ms. Bashanti Thapa                                                       Member
  13. Ms. Ramila Joshi                                                            Member



  1. Mr. Puroshottam Upadhayaya                                              Coordinator
  2. Mr. Kapil Timilsina                                                                  Member